The Boat Race of the North

The Boat Race of the North is an annual rowing event between the boat clubs of Durham and Newcastle universities held on the River Tyne in Newcastle.

The inaugural event took place on 18 May 1997. Durham has won eight of the twelve competitions. In 2009 Newcastle took the overall title for the first time and in 2010 the event was a draw. The event was sponsored for a number of years until 2010 by Northumbrian Water, and hence was known as the Northumbrian Water University Boat Race for this period. No races took place over the period 2011 – 2014, but the race resumed in 2015. Since 2015 the race had been sponsored by the NE1 business development company, with further sponsorship from Siemens in 2017.

Boat Race Winners
DUBC novice men celebrate their victory in style. Photo: Al Johnston

Since 2016 the events contested have been men’s and women’s 1st 8s, reserves and novice 8s – those who took up the sport at the beginning of the year.

DUBC reserves racing in 2017

Click to enlarge

Setting the scene: The iconic quayside
DUBC women
The women’s 8 2017
Men 1st 8
The men’s 8 2017
New in 2017: The Siemens’ Erg challenge